Award-Winning Editor of Clarkesworld Magazine, Forever Magazine, The Best Science Fiction of the Year, and More

2004 Stoker Award Winners

Congratulations to the winners!

In the Night Room by Peter Straub

First Novel (tie):
Covenant by John Everson
Stained by Lee Thomas

Long Fiction:
“The Turtle Boy” by Kealan-Patrick Burke

Short Fiction:
“Nimitseahpah” by Nancy Etchemendy

Fiction Collection:
Fearful Symmetries by Thomas F. Monteleone

The Year’s Best Fantasy and Horror, 17th Annual edited by Ellen Datlow, Kelly Link and Gavin Grant

Hellnotes edited by Judi Rohrig

Illustrated Narrative:
Heaven’s Devils by Jai Nitz

Screenplay (tie):
Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind by Charlie Kaufman, Michel Gondrey and Pierre Bismuth
Shaun of the Dead by Simon Pegg and Edgar Wright Studio

Work for Young Readers (tie):
Abarat: Days of Magic, Nights of War by Clive Barker
Oddest Yet by Steve Burt

Poetry Collection:
The Women at the Funeral by Corinne De Winter

Alternative Forms:
The Devil’s Wine edited by Tom Piccirilli


Subterranean Magazine is Here


Clarkesworld Bestsellers: Week Ending June 26th, 2005


  1. Wow, what’s up with all the ties?

    (And what are the odds of the sequel of a previous winner also getting an award?)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén